Hunger Games

Standard

I did get to see the movie The Hunger Games. I found interesting that people were upset about the horrors the children were committing on other children and comparing the game to Lord of the Flies. Yes, there is that but a huge point is being missed.

That point is why were these children picked from each of the districts to win the game in the first place? President Snow said it best, “Hope.” The hope for a chance at a better life. This hope kept the people down-trodden and submissive and living in poverty. The government with the media manipulated the people in order to maintain their control. Reminds me of the tv series Survivor- scripted realism.

Plus, if you remove the reason for the games to take place, the children probably would not interact with each other as they did in the movie- to be the last survivor and winner. Katniss would continue to hunt and maybe, Peeta would have gathered up enough courage to speak with Katniss, giving her the bread instead of tossing out toward her in the rain and mud.

I’m still not sure about the movie. I liked it, I’m not saying that. More I am still processing the way I am interpreting the author’s message, or what I think the message is. Since I haven’t spoken to the author or read an interviews (or seen any video interviews either) or even read the books, I can’t say, “This is the author’s true message.”

So is hope manipulated by the government and media truly hope?

Chex mix of the day- All the mixes, you don’t want to go hungry and have to put your name in to be drawn for the Games.

One response »

  1. Read the books, read the books, read the books! They are excellent and I think the point of the series goes along with the final scenes of this movie. Do not blindly do what you are told, particularly by government. Challenge, questions, risk, find your own solutions or you will be oppressed and killed. Also I think that kindness can be more powerfull than brute force. Katniss kindness and friendship with Rue is what sparked riots, the peoples believe in the “love” between Katniss and Petea helped save them both, and the true friendship between them helped them to survive.

Leave a comment